Cocteau Twins ‎– Victorialand – VINYL LP


EAN : 191400019317
Released : 1986
Reissue : 2020

1 in stock


“How time flies when time is time and again.

Another Cocteau Twins album, another gilded pillar of excellence, another review of waxing lyrical ballads.

Nothing is new, but the news is good—the progression is complete.

Time marches on, and passes by the elusive Twins whose work is neither updated, nor outdated, but sieves through another calendar in another place. Once more they are left out on a limb—playing in limbo—playing in the isolated peace and secret splendour of ‘Victorialand.’

Nothing is as it seems. The cover’s weathered and slightly distressed style conceals the haunting umbrella of perfection that lies within.

This time the Cocteaus’ quest for that perfect ethereal serenade has even meant the album must be played at 45rpm. The slower the speed, the coarser the quality, and the Twins’ flawless production has no room for mistakes—only mystery. Though ‘Victorialand’ is not as immediate as ‘Treasure,’ nor as ornate as ‘Tiny Dynamine,’ its jewels glisten in a sensual languor of intrigue that outstrips its predecessors.

Spikes of Robin Guthrie’s crystalline guitar stake out a fecund landscape where Liz Fraser’s beatific voice is free to swirl and entwine stroking chords before all dissolve in the cascading chant of ‘Lazy Calm.’ As usual, the Cocteaus’ titles swing between the abstract and the absurd with songs such as ‘Fluffy Tufts’ heralding the nursery rhyme stroll of ‘Oomingmak.’ The songs chime with innocence not incense and it all almost makes sense. Almost.(…)” – Melody Maker –

Tracklist :

A1 Lazy Calm
A2 Fluffy Tufts
A3 Throughout The Dark Months Of April And May
A4 Whales Tails
B1 Oomingmak
B2 Little Spacey
B3 Feet-Like Fins
B4 How To Bring A Blush To The Snow
B5 The Thinner The Air

Additional information
Weight 350 g




Privacy Preference Center