William S. Burroughs – Break Through In Grey Room – VINYL LP


Clear Transparent Vinyl
EAN : 0683950556256
Reissue : 2023

1 in stock


“Inspired by the original Industrial Records release of William S. Burroughs’s Nothing Here Now but the Recordings Belgian record label Sub Rosa worked with Burroughs to release another album: Break Through In Grey Room. Originally compiled in 1986 by producer Bill Rich, the album features Burroughs’s experimental recordings from 1961 to 1976, featuring field recordings by Burroughs of the Master Musicians of Jajouka, experimental collaborations with mathematician Ian Sommerville and painter/cut-up originator Brion Gysin. Break Through In Grey Room documents William S. Burroughs during his time in Europe and England, working with Ian Sommerville on recording with the ‘cut -up’ technique. Sommerville’s technical background enabled him to contribute to the early development of sound – and – light shows in London, leading to work with gear provided by Paul McCartney in an apartment owned by Ringo Starr. Experimental in nature, the record is as much an exhibition of studio and composition technique as it is a document of underground culture at that time. For the 2023 reissue, Dais Records has collaborated with the Estate of William S. Burroughs on reissuing the album on vinyl and compact disc, fully remastered by mastering engineer Josh Bonati.”

Tracklist :

A1 Ian Sommerville & William S. Burroughs– K-9 Was In Combat With The Alien Mind-Screens dias
A2 William S. Burroughs– Origin And Theory Of The Tape Cut-Ups
A3 Brion Gysin– Recalling All Active Agents
A4 Ian Sommerville & William S. Burroughs– Silver Smoke Of Dreams
B1 William S. Burroughs– Junky Relations
B2 Master Musicians Of Jajouka– Joujouka
B3 William S. Burroughs– Curse Go Back
B4 William S. Burroughs– Present Time Excersises
B5 Master Musicians Of Jajouka– Joujouka
B6 William S. Burroughs– Working With The Popular Forces
B7 William S. Burroughs– Interview With Mr. Martin
B8 Master Musicians Of Jajouka– Joujouka
B9 Ian Sommerville– Sound Piece
B10 Master Musicians Of Jajouka– Joujouka
B11 William S. Burroughs– Burroughs Called The Law

Additional information
Weight 260 g



Experimental/Electro, Folk/Blues/Jazz

Privacy Preference Center