Unwound ‎– No Energy – VINYL 3LP Box Set


Out of stock


As a robust rock underground got swallowed alive by the Major Label Industrial Complex, the very autonomous Unwound—Olympia, Washington’s Great Noise Hope—toed the troublesome line between pay check and Check Engine light. Captured in the gaps of a ruthless touring schedule, defining fourth and fifth albums The Future of What and Repetition were issued in the back-to-back springs of 1995 and ’96. Both find the band severing their post-hardcore roots, for gripping detours into Echoplex, kraut, D&B, and Mingus, as guided by a sun-worn copy of Book Your Own Fuckin’ Life.

No Energy collects both of these 1990s masterworks, beginning with Justin Trosper’s home-made haircut stabs on “New Energy,” continuing with Vern Rumsey’s reanimating bass on “Corpse Pose,” and closing in a wall of Sara Lund crash cymbals on “For Your Entertainment.” This 33-song collection is buttressed by singles and period live tracks, a pile of double-exposed photographs, and a 10,000 word essay by latter-day Unwound diarist David Wilcox.

3 150g LPs
3 single LP tip-on jackets
3 printed Euro sleeves
3 double-sided inserts
1 24-page 12.5


The Future Of What

A1 New Energy 1:58
A2 Demolished 2:49
A3 Natural Disasters 3:14
A4 Re-Enact The Crime 2:43
A5 Equally Stupid 3:06
A6 Pardon My French 1:30
A7 Descension 4:20
B1 Accidents On Purpose 1:55
B2 Petals Like Bricks 2:22
B3 Vern’s Answer To The Masses 0:39
B4 Here Come The Dogs 2:06
B5 Disappoint 5:19
B6 Swan 8:05

C1 Message Received 3:06
C2 Corpse Pose 3:05
C3 Unauthorized Autobiography 2:47
C4 Lowest Common Denominator 4:31
C5 Sensible 2:59
C6 Lady Elect 5:35
D1 Fingernails On A Chalkboard 4:56
D2 Murder Movies 1:48
D3 Next Exit 4:30
D4 Devoid 3:13
D5 Go To Dallas And Take A Left 4:08
D6 For Your Entertainment 5:40

No Energy
E1 Corpse Pose (Single Version) 3:05
E2 Everything Is Weird 2:51
E3 Seen Not Heard 3:41
E4 Next Exit 3:31
E5 Fingernails On A Chalkboard 2:31
F1 Mkultra 5:43
F2 Usual Dosage 8:04
F3 Swan 7:08

Additional information
Weight 1650 g



Noise/Math-Rock, Rock/Indie/Garage

Privacy Preference Center