Thou – A Primer Of Holy Words – VINYL LP


Gold Transparent Colored Vinyl – Sacred Bones Limited Edition
EAN : 0843563151082
Released : 2020
Reissue : 2022

1 in stock


“Thou is known for their Nirvana covers, and even released a full-length album called Blessings of the Highest Order in the midst of the lockdown for the band’s die-hard fans who were stuck in their rooms drinking every drop greedily. To their delight, the band has decided to release a complete compilation of their non-Nirvana covers, recorded and released between 2009 and 2022. All of the songs on A Primer of Holy Words have already been released on limited pressings of various splits, EPs and charity compilations. The range of bands covered is wide: Pearl Jam and Alice in Chains from abandoned tribute projects, Born Against from a very limited-pressing European compilation, Ginger Quail, an obscure New Orleans punk band from the late ’90s, etc. Regardless of their status in the civilian world, all of these bands and songs have left a strong impression on Thou – far more so than sludge or metal in general or New Orleans swamp. There’s a blackend-sludge reinterpretation of Born Against’s “Well Fed Fuck,” a bewitched version of Pearl Jam’s “Spin the Black Circle,” a disgustingly desperate and very apropos cover of Shellac’s “Prayer to God,” and the iconic Yeah Yeah Yeahs track “Maps.” This collection features artwork by former New Orleans artist Rachel Speck – now based in Mexico City – from her brand Tropical Goth. For fans of Eyehategod, Crowbar, Shellac, Pearl Jam, Alice in Chains, Soundgarden, Agents of Oblivion, Born Against, Minor Threat, Ginger Quail and Neil Young.” (Modulor)

Tracklist :

1. Introduction
2. Prayer to God – Shellac
3. Spin the Black Circle – Pearl Jam
4. No Excuses – Alice in Chains
5. Fourth of July – Soundgarden
6. Maps – Yeah Yeah Yeahs
7. Well Fed Fuck – Born Against
8. Screaming at a Wall – Minor Threat
9. Anarchy’s Stupid – Ginger Quail
10. Tremor Christ – Pearl Jam
10. Paroled in ‘54 – Agents of Oblivion
11. Don’t Let It Bring You Down – Neil Young

Additional information
Weight 300 g



Doom/Sludge/Drone, Stoner/Grunge

Privacy Preference Center