Swans – The Beggar – VINYL 2LP


EAN – 5400863101480
Release : 2023

2 in stock


The Beggar was recorded and mixed at Candy Bomber Studio, Berlin, engineered by Ingo Krauss and mastered by Doug Henderson at Micro-Moose, Berlin. The album was written and produced by Michael Gira and features contributions from recent and former Swans, members of Angels of Light, as well as Guest Swan Ben Frost.

“After numerous pandemic-induced cancellations of tours for the previous Swans album leaving meaning, and an apparent bottomless pit of waiting, waiting, waiting, and the strange disorientation that came with this sudden but interminable forced isolation I decided it was time to write songs for a new Swans album and forget about everything else. They came relatively easily, always informed by the suspicion that these could be my last. When I finally was able to travel, songs in hand, to Berlin to work with my friends recording this record, the feeling was akin to the moment in The Wizard of Oz when the film changes from Black and White to Color. Now I’m feeling quite optimistic. My favourite color is pink. I hope you enjoy the album.” – Michael Gira

Tracklisting :

A1 Paradise Is Mine 9:24
A2 The Beggar 10:15
B1 Los Angeles: City Of Death 3:29
B2 The Parasite 8:28
B3 The Memorious 7:53
C1 Michael Is Done 6:09
C2 Why Can’t I Have What I Want Anytime That I Want? 7:41
C3 Unforming 6:10
D1 Ebbing 11:26
D2 No More Of This 6:56

Additional information
Weight 450 g



Noise/Math-Rock, Rock/Indie/Garage

Privacy Preference Center