Swans – My Father Will Guide Me Up A Rope To The Sky – VINYL LP


EAN : 5051083079013

1 in stock


Reissue on Mute of the 2010 album. After a 13-year hiatus Swans prove they’ve still got it Michael Gira’s decision to revive Swans after a 13-year hiatus pays dividends with this striking, often startling, album that marries the brutalism of ‘Greed’, the lyricism of ‘Love Of Life’ and ‘Soundtracks Of The Blind”s bold experimentation. The charmingly-titled ‘You Fucking People Make Me Sick’ features a creepy turn by Gira protege Devendra Banhart, ‘Jim’, a tribute song to musical maverick Foetus, has a wonderfully unexpected ‘na-na-na-na’ chorus, while the cacophonous opening of ‘No Words / No Thoughts’ and the pulverising guitar barrage of ‘Eden Prison’ is beauty at its very bleakest. Make no mistake, Gira has his mojo back and Swans are very much alive.

Tracklisting :

A1 No Words / No Thoughts 9:23
A2 Reeling The Liars In 2:20
A3 Jim 6:44
A4 My Birth 3:51
B1 You Fucking People Make Me Sick 5:11
B2 Inside Madeline 6:33
B3 Eden Prison 6:01
B4 Little Mouth 4:12

Additional information
Weight 300 g



Noise/Math-Rock, Rock/Indie/Garage

Privacy Preference Center