Sufjan Stevens – Reflections – VINYL LP


Turquoise Colored Vinyl
EAN : 0729920165520
Released : 2023

1 in stock


“I’m constantly thinking about bodies moving through space when I’m writing for ballet – that is what has informed this music, first and foremost,” says Sufjan Stevens on Reflections, his latest collaboration with choreographer Justin Peck. Originally commissioned and performed by Houston Ballet in 2019, Reflections was written for two pianos and eleven dancers. A studio recording of the seven movements is now available; engineered, mixed and mastered by Ryan Streber with performances by pianists Timo Andres and Conor Hanick. Released via Asthmatic Kitty Records, Reflections is, in Stevens words, about “energy, light and duality.” This piece follows on from several scores Stevens has created with Peck, including Year of the Rabbit (2012), Everywhere We Go (2014), In the Countenance of Kings (2016), The Decalogue (2017) and Principia (2019). “We have been working together for many years now,” says Stevens. “We respect and trust each other’s work.” Peck and Stevens are currently collaborating on a dance theater piece based on Stevens’ songs from the acclaimed album, Illinois, to premiere at Fisher Center at Bard in June of 2023. (Asthmatic Kitty Records)

Tracklist :

A1 Ekstasis 3:05
A2 Revanche 5:20
A3 Euphoros 3:15
A4 Mnemosyne 3:28
B5 Rodinia 5:52
B6 Reflexion 2:58
B7 And I Shall Come To You Like A Stormtrooper In Drag Serving Imperial Realness 6:34

Additional information
Weight 250 g




Privacy Preference Center