Suburban Lawns – S/T – VINYL LP


EAN : 0857661008797
Released : 1981
Reissue : 2021

2 in stock


If your brain has a shortlist of bands that instantly evoke New Wave, Suburban Lawns deserve a slot right next to the likes of Devo, Talking Heads and the B-52’s. After putting out two singles on their own Suburban Industrial imprint, the Lawns signed to I.R.S. Records and released their debut LP in 1981. While the band gained cult status thanks in part to a Jonathan Demme-produced music video which aired on Saturday Night Live, their self-titled album would sadly be the five-piece’s only full-length statement.Suburban Lawns’ asymmetrical aesthetic is personified by co-vocalist Su Tissue, whose mesmerizing stage persona was at once childlike and terrifying. Her unique style embodies the awkward/arty female singer of the Reagan era, while the group’s male vocals—courtesy of Frankie Ennui, Vex Billingsgate and John McBurney—maintain the satirical themes of Southern California’s postwar mirage of limitless sprawl.

Tracklist :

A1 Flying Saucer Safari
A2 Pioneers
A3 Not Allowed
A4 Gossip
A5 Intellectual Rock
A6 Protection
A7 Anything
B1 Janitor
B2 Computer Date
B3 Mom and Dad and God
B4 Unable
B5 When In The World
B6 Green Eyes
B7 Jam The Controls

Additional information
Weight 250 g



Post-Rock/Post-HxC, Punk/Hardcore

Privacy Preference Center