Scott Kelly / Steve Von Till / Wino ‎- Songs Of Townes Van Zandt (gold) – VINYL LP


Colored : Gold Vinyl
EAN : 0733102725112
Released : 2012
Reissue : 2022

1 in stock


“Special three-way split tribute to late American folk music hero Townes Van Zandt by SCOTT KELLY (Neurosis, Shrinebuilder, Tribes of Neurot, solo artist, etc.), STEVE VON TILL (Neurosis, Tribes of Neurot, Harvestman, solo artist, etc.) and SCOTT WINO WEINRICH (Saint Vitus, The Obsessed, The Hidden Hand, Shrinebuilder, solo artist, etc.).
Townes Van Zandt never reached significant fame during his lifetime. Although highly respected by his peers and other songwriters, the mood and atmosphere of his music,coupled with his sometimes dark and sarcastic nature, was not suitable for the commercial country-industry of Nashville. Van Zandtís songs did, however, reach popularity in his day, through artists such as Willie Nelson, Merle Haggard, and Emmylou Harris. Within his circle of outsider singer-songwriters, he was adored, though ultimately it would be depression and alcoholism that would overshadow his life. Townesí friend, singer Steve Earle, has been quoted as saying,
“Townes Van Zandt is the best songwriter in the whole world and Iíll stand on Bob Dylanís coffee table in my cowboy boots and say that.”
After Townesí death in 1997, the fact that artists as diverse as Robert Plant, Mudhoney, Norah Jones, Lyle
Lovett, and Bob Dylan himself have kept his songs alive and vital, is a testament to the influence and impact of his music.
So now do Steve Von Till, Scott Kelly, and Wino stand and sing his tribute, each focusing on the essence of Van Zandtís music and lyrics in his own personal way. The result is a great homage, whose intensity lies in fragility and elementary human truths. Townes Van Zandtís broken-hearted love songs and gloom-ridden tales are most deserving of this tribute and praise.
North American version released by Neurot Recordings. This project was made manifest by Ansgar Glade, a great friend of these three men, who was inspired by the songs of Townes Van Zandt that he heard performed in their various solo sets while traveling with them throughout Europe.
In fact, Ansgar´s new label, My Proud Mountain was specially founded in order to release this album.” (My Proud Mountain)

Tracklist :

A1 Steve Von Till– If I Needed You – 3:58
A2 Scott Kelly– St. John The Gambler – 4:44
A3 Steve Von Till– Black Crow Blues – 3:21
A4 Scott Kelly– Lungs – 3:20
A5 Wino – Rake – 2:44
B1 Steve Von Till– The Snake Song – 3:35
B2 Wino – Nothing – 3:52
B3 Scott Kelly– Tecumseh Valley – 7:09
B4 Wino – A Song For – 4:25

Additional information
Weight 300 g




Privacy Preference Center