Nwar – Beyond The Sun – VINYL LP


Ref label : HR058
EAN : 3770005948467

282 in stock


The guitar-drum duo from the Montpellier area got together in 2018 in Nico’s (drummer) attic, his home studio. They are composing a first EP that will be released during the confinement on Head Records. March 2020.
From then on, the attic becomes more and more important for the two musicians, it becomes “Le Grenier”. They have already worked in the 90’s and 2000’s in different bands: Tantrum, Drive Blind, Lunatic Age. Laurent (guitarist) is a sound engineer, he won several awards and worked in the synchro for television. So they know their classics. In “Le Grenier”, confined, they shoot live videos, and then the classics come out, they make videos of covers: Soundgarden, Blue Oyster Cult, Pink Floyed. They enjoy themselves.

In August 2021 they compose a new album : “Beyond The Sun”. They put into practice their taste for intelligent metal, asymmetric measures, big guitar sounds, saturation, hardcore.
Laurent plays with an octaveur on his guitar to go and find the low sound which is lying around in his instrumentations. And to confuse the issue while working on their essentials, they also recorded a cover of David Bowie, Brian Eno and Trent Treznor (Nine Inch Nails) for the album: I’m Afraid of America.

But the musical chaos they record is tinged with human darkness, instrumental their music need svoices, screams, screaming to make the dark side of the human soul transpire. So they go to the soundtracks of the WikiLeaks of the American army in Iraq, in reports on industrial disasters(industrial, a word that fits well to their music too). On another track it’s a whistleblower talking about leaks from a Japanese nuclear power plant, on another one excerpts from Kubrick’s 2001 Space Odyssey. Nico and Laurent compose, arrange, record and mix together. Only the mastering is entrusted to Bruno Varéa.

Tracklisting :

A1 : Good American Boy (2:21)
A2 : W10 (5:10)
A3 : Beyond The Sun (9:44)
B1 : Ashes (4:15)
B2 : Vertigo Bird (6:17)
B3 : I’m Afraid Of Americans (5:52)
B4 : Memento Mori (4:33)

Additional information
Weight 280 g

Doom/Sludge/Drone, Metal, Post-Rock/Post-HxC, Punk/Hardcore

Privacy Preference Center