Microfilm – The Bay Of Future Passed – CD


Label : Head Records – Ref Label : HR011 – Style : Post-Rock – Année : 2010 – EAN13 : 3760068234874

34 in stock


MICROFILM is a french band created in 2003 by musicians coming from various musical backgrounds and bands such as Gum, Seven Hate and Myra Lee. The result of their meeting is an instrumental music including audio and video samples and is often described as Post Rock in the vein of Mogwai, Explosions in the sky, From monuments to masses…

The project takes its true dimension in concert through the projection of pictures sampled from movies and then graphically re-animated.To avoid looking like any simple movie concert and to keep spotlight on the musicians’s play, the images are piloted directly by the musicians to the rythm of the songs thanks to pedals specially designed by them. The music style is quite original since they only listen to their feelings and music is their way to express their emotions. Concerning their musical tastes, it’s pretty wide,from deeply independent rockbands to highly commercial Mtv productions such as Sonic Youth, Jawbox, The Neptunes, My Bloody Valentine, Queens Of The Stone Age, Foxy Brown,Bernard Hermann, Black Sabbath…

The first album of MICROFILM “A journey to the 75th” was released on cd in January 05 (Rejuvenation records/JR prod) and then re-released on LP in January 06 (Migouri records).It was acclaimed by the french independent press,fanzines and websites…it even appeared in the american website The Silent Ballet’s Top 50 of instrumental releases (2006)!

“Stereodrama” the title of their latest album, is the band’s most complete production since it was conceived as a whole. Comfortably sitting in his chair with a pair of 3D glasses included in the album, the listener can plunge himself completely in the plastic and musical relief of the compositions. This album was released in France by La Baleine distrib and gave the band the opportunity to play more and in bigger venues all around France (Paris, Lyon, Nantes, Bordeaux, Rennes…)but also through Europe and even in China for a 8-show-tour in summer 2007! And the musicians of MICROFILM were rather glad to play with bands such as Explosions in the sky, M83, Jeffrey Lewis, Mono, Millionaire, The Black Heart Procession, Dalek, Subtitle, Mice parade, Hrsta , Trans am…

1. Brute Force 04:43
2. Blood Sample 05:29
3. State & Island 04:53
4. The Bay of Future Passed 06:28
5. Devant nous, rien 04:56
6. Dernière séquence 04:28
7. Combinaison 04:57
8. Blood Sample (piano edit) 04:56

Additional information
Weight 110 g




Privacy Preference Center