Kendrick Lamar – Good Kid, M.A.A.d City – VINYL 2LP


2LP Gatefold, translucent milky clear colored vinyl
EAN : 0602537192267
Release : 2015
Repress : 2022

2 in stock


The first sound we hear on good kid, m.A.A.d. city is a prayer: “Thank you, Lord Jesus, for saving us with your precious blood,” voices murmur, evoking a family dinner gathering. The album’s cover art, a grubby Polaroid, provides a visual prompt for the scene: Baby Kendrick dangles off an uncle’s knee in front of a squat kitchen table displaying a 40-ounce and Lamar’s baby bottle. The snapshot is such an unvarnished peek into the rapper’s inner life that staring at it for too long feels almost invasive. This autobiographical intensity is the album’s calling card. Listening to it feels like walking directly into Lamar’s childhood home and, for the next hour, growing up alongside him.

Lamar has subtitled the record “A Short Film by Kendrick Lamar”, and the comparison rings true: You could take the album’s outline and build a set for a three-act play. It opens on a 17-year-old Kendrick “with nothing but pussy stuck on my mental,” driving his mother’s van to see a girl named Sherane. As his voice darts and halts in a rhythm that mimics his over-eager commute, Lamar explores the furtiveness of young lust: “It’s deep-rooted, the music of being young and dumb,” he raps. The song is interrupted by the first of several voice mail recordings that delineate the album’s structure: Kendrick’s mother, rambling into his phone and pleading for him to return her car. These voicemails appear through the record, reinforcing that good kid, m.A.A.d city is partly a love letter to the grounding power of family. In this album’s world, family and faith are not abstract concepts: They are the fraying tethers holding Lamar back from the chasm of gang violence that threatens to consume him.

more on :

Tracklist :

A1 Sherane a.k.a Master Splinter’s Daughter
A2 Bitch, Don’t Kill My Vibe
A3 Backseat Freestyle
A4 The Art Of Peer Pressure
B1 Money Trees
B2 Poetic Justice
B3 Good Kid
B4 M.A.A.D City
C1 Swimming Pools (Drank) [Extended Version]
C2 Sing About Me, I’m Dying Of Thirst
D1 Real
D2 Compton

Additional information
Weight 650 g




Privacy Preference Center