June Of 44 – Anahata – VINYL LP


EAN : 0036172006410
Released : 1999

1 in stock


June of 44 are an indie collective active from 1994 to 2000 and again since 2018, making music that’s usually classified as math rock, but branched out into experimental jazz, ambient dub, and post punk. The members all live in different cities, and were /are (among others) also in Rodan, Rex, Lungfish, The Crownhate Ruin, Codeine, and Hoover Members later formed HiM, The Sonora Pine, and Shipping News.

Exclaim! called the album June of 44’s “most satisfying outing to date, largely because they seem to have refocused their sweat and toil on writing songs — or riffs and motifs, to be more accurate.” Portland Mercury wrote that the band perfected “their squirrelly amalgam of post-rock and post-hardcore.” The Dallas Observer wrote that “the playing is uniformly excellent ([Doug] Scharin is one of rock’s most underrated drummers) but not in the service of any particularly dynamic ideas.” CMJ New Music Monthly wrote that the band’s “tactic of flatly shouting its lyrics, often in unison, detracts from the musical backdrop.”

Tracklist :

A1 Wear Two Eyes (Boom)
A2 Escape Of The Levitational Trapeze Artist
A3 Cardiac Atlas
A4 Equators To Bi-Polar
B1 Recorded Syntax
B2 Southeast Of Boston
B3 Five Bucks In My Pocket
B4 Peel Away Velleity

Additional information
Weight 250 g



Noise/Math-Rock, Rock/Indie/Garage

Privacy Preference Center