Joy Division – Unknown Pleasures – CD


10.00 7.00

0639842822329 / Release:1979 Repress:2000

Out of stock


Joy Division’s 1979 debut is, at once, glistening and foreboding. Its atmospheric production and Ian Curtis’ dramatic croon—shot through with scything guitars, cutting synthlines and booming bass—combine to create an eerie sense of disconnection and distance. The punchy and anxious “Shadowplay”, the echo-heavy “She’s Lost Control” and the rifftastic “Interzone” are perfect, if not sinister, storms of punk and dance. Other tunes, like pop-brooder “New Dawn Fades” and the tribal-dirge of an album closer, “I Remember Nothing”, set the stage for the coming darkness that was goth rock.

Additional information

Weight110 g