Galaxie 500 – This Is Our Music (+ Copenhagen) – 2CD


This is an US import.
EAN : 6 00197 10102 5
Released : 2010

1 in stock


After producing two albums celebrated by a thirsty underground network of fans, Galaxie 500 released what turned out to be their unexpected swansong, This Is Our Music. The title is an intentionally declarative statement. After being labeled masters of the disengaged and forlorn, Damon Krukowsi, Dean Wareham, and Naomi Yang delivered a full-length comprised of their most stately material. Here, one can hear potential realized, as well as changes afoot.
“Fourth of July” is a surprisingly up-front song for the band, with rolling drums and a bass-heavy refrain, and it proved to be their most popular single. The track sets the stage for the dynamism of This Is Our Music. When Galaxie 500 sounds wistful (“Summertime”), it sounds like years of yearning actualized; when the band sounds regretful (“Sorry”), it comes pleading on its knees. The trio found a beautiful balance between increased production values and knob-twiddler Mark Kramer’s odd-handed approach.

This Is Our Music is once again available, now as a double-CD with deluxe packaging, featuring the bonus disc Copenhagen, a live album capturing the band at their most fully realized. It documents what was to be one of their final performances ever.

Tracklist :

This Is Our Music
CD1-1 Fourth Of July 5:37
CD1-2 Hearing Voices 3:34
CD1-3 Spook 4:37
CD1-4 Summertime 5:59
CD1-5 Way Up High 4:04
CD1-6 Listen, The Snow Is Falling 7:47
CD1-7 Sorry 4:15
CD1-8 Melt Away 4:36
CD1-9 King Of Spain, Part Two 5:08
Bonus Track
CD1-10 Here She Comes Now 6:01
CD2-1 Decomposing Trees 4:52
CD2-2 Fourth Of July 5:01
CD2-3 Summertime 8:04
CD2-4 Sorry 4:30
CD2-5 When Will You Come Home 5:39
CD2-6 Spook 4:54
CD2-7 Listen, The Snow Is Falling 8:25
CD2-8 Here She Comes Now 5:38
CD2-9 Don’t Let Our Youth Go To Waste 7:54

Additional information
Weight 110 g




Privacy Preference Center