Don Caballero – American Don



Pittsburgh math rockers Don Caballero were one of the first bands to expand on the work of genre innovators like Bastro, Bitch Magnet, and (especially) Slint. Their music was entirely instrumental, and while their guitar interplay was as complex and dissonant as any of their peers, the real driving force behind their precisely calibrated attack was virtuosic drummer Damon Che. In essence, it was Che’s manic explosions and stop-on-a-dime shifts in time signature that mapped out the trail his bandmates followed. His whirlwind of percussion helped pace the crashing din of the rest of the quartet, yet they also had a firm grasp of dynamics and often slowed things down into a heavy dirge. And despite the influence of jazz, there was no improvisation — all the group’s compositions were carefully structured, no matter how chaotic they seemed. Don Caballero recorded several albums for Touch & Go over the ’90s to generally positive critical response, before going their separate ways in 2001.

Tracklist :

A1 Fire Back About Your New Baby’s Sex
A2 The Peter Criss Jazz
B1 Haven’t Lived Afro Pop
B2 You Drink A Lot Of Coffee For A Teenager
C1 Ones All Over The Place
C2 I Never Liked You
D1 Details On How To Get ICEMAN On Your License Plate
D2 A Lot Of People Tell Me I Have A Fake British Accent
D3 Let’s Face It Pal, You Didn’t Need That Eye Surgery

Additional information
Weight N/A




Vinyl Color

Black, Purple

Privacy Preference Center