Codeine – The White Birch – VINYL LP


Colored vinyl : Washed Up Splatter
Repress 2023
EAN : 0825764191821

1 in stock


A white ship sailing in a sea of blackness, Codeine’s swan song arrived in 1994 amid grunge’s ascension to alt radio’s godhead status. John Engle’s guitar alternates between crystalline and sludge, and Stephen Immerwhar’s distorted bass floats on top of punishing drums from newcomer Doug Scharin (Rex, June of 44), resulting in nine perfect meditations on the loneliness and uncertainty of early adulthood.

“Codeine’s unyielding numbness creates its own kind of warmth — the feeling of cold water running for so long that it suddenly feels hot.” —Spin

Tracklist :

A1 Sea
A2 Loss Leader
A3 Vacancy
A4 Kitchen Light
A5 Washed Up
B1 Tom
B2 Ides
B3 Wird
B4 Smoking Room

Additional information
Weight 250 g



Noise/Math-Rock, Rock/Indie/Garage

Privacy Preference Center