Codeine – Frigid Stars LP – VINYL LP


Colored vinyl : Clear w/ Black Splatter [Heat Death]
Repress 2023
EAN : 0825764191623

1 in stock


The drowsiest and earliest inklings of the slowcore movement can be traced to Codeine’s 1991 debut. Combining the Louisville scene’s relaxed tempo with doom metal’s distorted slurry, the album is a depressing masterpiece of hushed vocals, noisy guitar, and punishing drums. Remastered from the original analog tapes and recreated in painstaking detail, Frigid Stars LP is the NYC trio’s fuzziest and most affecting work.

“A deft musical approximation of the sound of water turning to ice, the guitars are so weighed down with distortion that they struggle to march from one chord to the next.” — Pitchfork

Tracklist :

A1 D
A2 Gravel Bed
A3 Pickup Song
A4 3 Angels
A5 New Year’s
B1 Second Chance
B2 Cave-In
B3 Cigarette Machine
B4 Old Things

Additional information
Weight 250 g



Noise/Math-Rock, Rock/Indie/Garage

Privacy Preference Center